Our History

Our Congregation's History:

University United Methodist Church has a unique and rich heritage which follows from the union of two former congregations.  Trinity Methodist Church was chartered in 1887 as Walnut Grove Methodist Episcopal Church and was located at 18th and Harrison.  It moved to 16th and Harrison in 1903.

Euclid Methodist Church began in 1888 as Martin Methodist Episcopal Church.  This congregation undertook construction of a new building at 17th and College in 1964.  The church was built on the site of the study of the Rev. Charles M. Sheldon, former pastor of Central Congregational Church and the author of ” In His Steps”.

In 1965 the two congregations united as University Methodist Church.  In 1968 the Methodist Church and the Evangelical United Brethren Church merged to form the University United Methodist Church.